Nepal Visa Information

  • Last Updated on Aug 24, 2022

When visiting any foreign country visa is the most important travel document. Before traveling to a foreign nation, you should get a visa for which you must have the appropriate legal documentation and a passport. If you wish to travel to Nepal but are not an Indian citizen, you must first obtain a visa. 

Table of Contents

Each client must present a diplomatic passport with at least six months of prior validity at the Nepalese consulate in their home country or the Tribhuvan International Airport in Kathmandu with a copy of the passport-sized photo. You can get a Nepal Visa at a reasonable cost.

Visa can also be requested from the Nepal Embassy and diplomatic posts in your country. The Kathmandu Department of Immigration could further renew them.

Nepal Entry / Exit Points

The following are the entry and exit points of Nepal and the points you can get an on-arrival visa in Nepal:

  1. Tribhuwan International Airport(TIA), Kathmandu
  2. Kakarvitta, Jhapa
  3. Birgunj, Parsa
  4. Bhairahawa, Rupandehi
  5. Kodari, Sindhupalchowk
  6. Nepalgunj, Banke
  7. Mohana, Dhangadi
  8. Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar
  9. Pokhara International Airport, Pokhara
  10. Gautam Buddha International Airport, Lumbini

You can pick up your on-arrival visas instantly from these entry points. If you have a pre-arrival visa, you must depart for Nepal within six months of the day the visa was obtained.

Nepal Visa Fee Details

  • 15 Days = USD 30
  • 30 Days = USD 50
  • 90 Days = USD 125

Nepal Visa Extension Fees 

Visa can easily be extended from the Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, Kathmandu, and Pokhara Immigration offices. 

  • The cost to extend a tourist visa is USD 45 for a minimum of 15 days, plus USD 3 every extra day.
  • If the delay is shorter than 150 days, an additional $5 per day will be charged as a late fee.

Gratis Visa 

The following groups of visa applicants are eligible for free visa issuance:

  • Only citizens of South Asian nations including Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka are eligible for a free 30-day visa for the first visit within a visa year. The Immigration Department will, however, extend visas upon payment of the aforementioned visa fee.
  • Chinese citizens
  • Children below 10 years except for US citizens
  • Holder of an NRN card (issued by the MoFA or a Nepalese diplomatic mission abroad), who does not reside in Nepal.

Visa for Indian Nationals

Indian nationals can enter Nepal without a visa. The Indian national entering Nepal should either have a passport or Election Commission Card.

Other Visa Information

The following nationals will need to apply for a visa at one of Nepal's embassies or diplomatic missions in their home countries since they cannot receive visas upon arrival at Nepal's entry points.

  1. Nigeria
  2. Ghana
  3. Zimbabwe
  4. Swaziland
  5. Cameroon
  6. Somalia
  7. Liberia
  8. Ethiopia
  9. Iraq
  10. Palestine
  11. Afghanistan
  12. Syria
  13. Refugees with a passport

For further information regarding the visa, you can contact the Department of Immigration and for applying for the visa you can click here.

Benjila Dhital

Benjila Dhital

Benjila has been an integral part of the Nepal Nirvana Trails as she writes passionately and learns about new spots, people, cultures, and languages. With a Bachelor's Degree from the reputed college NATHM in Bachelors of Tourism and Travel Management lately, she has been engaging in authoring web content and familiarizing new locations with the tourist out there.